What to wear on a… First Date?

Hello My Lovelies! “First Date” ~  two really daunting words which have the power to wreck havoc and create chaos in the minds and wardrobes of women all over the world.

~When you are getting ready for your date the following thoughts come to mind and really f**k up with your mental peace…~

“What am I gonna wear?”

“Oh my god! I have nothing to wear!”

“I need to go shopping?”

“Is this look too slutty?”

“Am I looking to plain?”

“Does this dress make me look.. FAT?!”

If you are plagued by these thoughts, then don’t worry! You’re not alone. We’ve all been there!

I remember when I had to go on a first date with my boyfriend, I had emptied out my whole closet, called my best friend frantically in the middle of freak out, declaring that I don’t know what I am going to wear! In the end I did settle on my first date outfit and had a really awesome time on the date.

How to dress for a first date?

The following are some things that you should keep in mind when you’re getting ready for your date :-

1. Be Comfortable

IMG_3863

One of the most essential aspects of looking good for your first date is being comfortable in what you’re wearing. Trust me there is nothing worse than wearing a nice outfit but fidgeting throughout the date with the hemline, neckline etc.

If you’re a jeans and top girl, then wear that! Probably a slightly more updated jeans and top version than what you usually wear, but wear whatever makes you comfortable.

Because, the thing with being uncomfortable is, more often than not, it shows! So, relax and stop trying to wear that bodycon dress which you know would make you want to tug the dress near the stomach area because you’re too afraid that your stomach might be pooching out!

2. Avoid Wearing High Heels

IMG_3797-001

I know, I know look who is talking! The girl who practically lives in her high heels! But, hear me out! High Heels are sexy and make you look tall and give you an added boost of confidence but, at the same time they can take some getting used to and can also sometimes limit your level of movement.

I remember the time when I had just started wearing high heels and I used to get so nervous trying to walk around an uneven surface, a flight of stairs, wet floors etc. My attention would solely be focused on not trying to fall flat on my butt! And it took a lot out of me back then. My feet would hurt, I would be nervous about tripping and I would constantly be looking for seats where I could sit and not have to be on my toes a lot.

So, what I am saying is… give the high heels a miss, at least for the first date. But, if you think you can handle wearing them then I wish you best.

3. Makeup

IMG_2110-001

If you don’t usually wear makeup then don’t cake yourself up with makeup just for the sake of the date. What you can do is probably wear some kajal and a lip gloss/lip balm to look more date-y. The idea behind doing your makeup is not to look like you’re going to some shaadi (wedding), It is to play up on your natural assets and enhance the same with the help of makeup.

IMG_1888-001

Focus on that one feature on your face that you want to emphasize. Example: Between your eyes and your lips… focus on either one of them but not both together. Like, you could sport a smokey eye with a nude lip or a bold lip with kohl/mascara rimmed eyes!

4. Stick to what you know

I can’t stress this enough but stick to the thing that you know how to do, when you’re getting ready for your date. There is no point trying some new smokey eye technique, heat-less hair curling method, DIY face packs, contouring-highlighting techniques etc. Your first date is not the time to do all that. Chances are the end results might be an experiment gone wrong! Stick to what you know and can do. Like a winged eye look, or a hair bun, or just straightening your hair.

5. Dress for the occasion

It’s really important to dress for the occasion. Depending upon where you’re going or what you’re doing on your first date, you can plan your outfit so that you don’t over or under dress.

Example: For a movie date you don’t need to be a total glam doll, you can keep it casual in a nice pair of jeans with a cute top.

~The following are three look that would be perfect for your first date~

LOOK 1.

PicsArt_1433928294645

(From left to right ~ Dress, bag, shoes)

For this look, pair this black sheer embroidered dress with metallic platform bluchers and throw on a metallic messenger chain strap bag to complete this look.

This look is really hot and the metallic accents in the look really make the outfit standout! The look is perfect for a restaurant or a movie date.

LOOK 2.

PicsArt_1433927985442

(From left to right ~ Skirt, Top, Sandals)

This second look is really feminine and flirty! For this look pair this metallic pleated skirt with this floral lace crop top. Complete the look by pairing it with metallic faux leather slingback sandals.

This outfit is perfect for a day date!

LOOK 3.

PicsArt_1433928114210

(From left to right ~ Pants, Top, Wedges)

This last look is edgier than the rest of the looks. For this look pair these gorgeous stretch woven pants with a fringe faux suede top, then throw on these printed wedges to complete this edgy look!

FINAL THOUGHTS!

This whole article is about how YOU can feel more confident when you are on a date. You don’t have to conform to some given standards of what is “pretty” or what is “in” to have a nice first date.The right person will still think that the sun shines out of your a**  irrespective of what you wear.

The most important thing is to be true to who you are and just be yourself when you are out on your date. Your date is equally nervous as you are. So, just relax and have a great time!

Well that’s it for now!

As always send me some love!

Follow like and comment!

For queries, enquiries and feedback —-> askwhatwearwant@gmail.om

Leave a Reply

